Advertise here

Milo celebrates 25 years of supporting schools' rugby with a novel concept

Milo celebrates 25 years of supporting schools' rugby with a novel concept
By Hishan Welmilla 
Nestle Lanka PLC together with one of their flagship brands ‘Milo” intend celebrating their support for Sri Lanka schools’ over the last 25 year with a novel concept which will bring Sri Lankan rugby fans an unforgettable experience.
25 schools rugby legends and captains of previous ‘Milo President's Trophy Rugby Tournament’ winning teams are coming together to compete head-to-head in a friendly match, in honour of Milo’s 25th year of supporting schools rugby sports. Milo’s 25th anniversary ‘Legends Rugby Showdown’ set to be the game of the year,
The highly anticipated event will take place on 24 June 2017 at the Racecourse Grounds from 5.00 p.m. onwards as the curtain raiser for this year’s ‘Milo President's Trophy Rugby Tournament.’
The event, jointly organised by the Sri Lanka Schools Rugby Football Association, the Ministry of Education and Nestlé, is said to be the first of its kind in schools rugby history.
The legendary players will be forming two teams - ‘Milo Whites’ and ‘Milo Greens’. ‘Milo Whites’  will lead by Sanjeewa Abegunawardhana of St Peter’s College, the winning captain of the President’s Trophy in 1995 while ‘Milo Greens’ getting the leadership of  Bandula Mallikarachchi,  1996 President’s Trophy winning captain of Isipathana College.
The match, refereed by Sri Lanka’s top referee Dilroy Fernando.
As a prelude to the 25 year celebrations of Milo rugby, the Rugby Showdown players have joined hands with Milo to promote the values of team spirit. Under the theme ‘#TeamMakesMe’, the players recall their best moments and challenges on the field as a team in a series of short videos on social media, radio and TV.
Engagements with fans
Milo will also be launching a voting app to add to the excitement of the match, enabling thousands of rugby fans to vote for their favourite player. The app can be accessed through the Milo Sri Lanka facebook page ( as well as through SMS (777 68 00 77).
 “For people with a real passion and love for the game, this is going to be one to remember. We can’t think of a better or more spectacular way to celebrate our 25th anniversary in school sports rugby. Our ambition has always been to ‘fuel the winning spirit,’ and what better way to encourage our young and talented athletes than by showing them how their rugby heroes did it back in the day. This anniversary match is not only a highlight of all the rugby stars we’ve helped nurture over the last 25 years, but also of our continued commitment to nourish the ambitions and wellbeing of many more generations of rugby players.” Expressing his views on this navel concept of celebration Norman Kannangara,Vice President – Beverages Nestle Lanka PLC said
Legends Rugby Team Members
Milo Whites
•                        Sanjeewa Abegunawardhana, Captain of St. Peter’s College, 1995 (Captain)
•                        Vajira Hewage, Captain of Isipathana College, 1997
•                        Janaka De Silva, Vice-Captain of Isipathana College, 1999
•                        Ranga Perera, Captain of Isipathana College, 2001
•                        Dinesh Siriwimala, Captain of Kingswood College, 2003
•                        Eranda Weerakkody, Captain of Kingswood College, 2005
•                        Shanaka Gunasekara, Vice-Captain of St. Peter’s College, 2007
•                        Janik Jayasuriya, Vice-Captain of St. Thomas’ College, 2009
•                        Duminda Attygala, Captain of Royal College, 2010
•                        Murad Ramzeen, Captain of Trinity College, 2011
•                        Gavin Siegertsz, Vice-Captain of Wesley College, 2013
•                        Lasindu Karunathilaka, Captain of Science College, 2015
Milo Greens
•                        Bandula Mallikarachchi, Captain of Isipathana College, 1996 (Captain)
•                        Vinoth Kurupunawela, Vice-Captain of Thurstan College, 1998
•                        Chamara Withanage, Captain of Kingswood College, 2000
•                        Zulki Hameed, Captain of Royal College, 2002
•                        Fazil Marija, Captain of Kingswood College, 2004
•                        Harendra Ariyawansa, Captain of St. Peter’s College, 2006
•                        Poornaka Delpachithra, Captain of St. Peter’s College, 2008
•                        Keith Gurusinghe, Captain of St. Peter’s College, 2010
•                        Shenal Dias, Vice-Captain of Isipathana College, 2012
•                        Senal Deelaka, Captain of Isipathana College, 2014
•                        Kushan Indunil, Captain of Isipathana College, 2016
Posted on 2017-06-15 10:26:28
Sri Lankan Airlines
Nov 18
Events Book
International Sports Press Association
LIVE Scores

Should Dilshan have continued until Cricket World Cup 2019?

Yes No

“That was pathetic. No excuse at all. The whole team is responsible. Whoever the captain is, we have to back him and try and support him. The captain has to do so many other stuff. All the 11 guys must back him and support him.” “We have addressed the issue of finishing off the overs on time in the past as well, but it cropped up again. It’s so unfortunate to see Upul going out as he is a crucial player in our set up. He batted well against South Africa and it’s so unfortunate. This can’t happen again,” - Angelo Mathews


Cricket is a game of fine margins and Mathews is set to be a modern great. Hang in their Angie, this team can achieve something on this tour. Thirimane and the youngsters form was a real positive. Prasad was missed. Chameera should be persisted with. If Bairstow was our early outcome could have been very different.


Enter your email address to sign up for our email Newsletters.

Please type in your email address.


Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions