Advertise here

Ranjith Chandrasekara gets top seat in Schools' Rugby

Ranjith Chandrasekara gets top seat in Schools' Rugby

The 20th Annual General Meeting of Sri Lanka Schools Rugby Football Association was held at the Nalanda College, Colombo Auditorium on January 28. Ranjith Chandrasekara, Principal of Kingswood College was elected President for another tenure of two years uncontested.

Susantha Mendis was elected Secretary by receiving a majority voting of 55 against Denzil Darling 11 votes.

The President and the Secretary thanked the officials who supported the SLSRFA which was a great success last year. They also thanked both sponsors, Singer Sri Lanka Ltd. and Nestle Lanka PLC who proudly sponsored the respective tournaments for the year 2011, for making these tournaments a success. They also thanked the referees from the Sri Lanka Referees Society for doing a marvellous job during the tournaments.

The main sponsors were as follows: The League Tournaments and seven A-side under 20 tournaments were sponsored by Singer Sri Lanka Ltd. While the Under 14-10 a side, Under 16-12 a side, Under 18-10 a side, the President’s Milo Trophy, the Premier Trophy and Chairman’s Trophy were sponsored by Nestle Lanka Ltd.

The teams participated in the tournaments were grouped in two categories: Division One and 11 which comprised leading schools in the island from six provinces. They are Western Province, Central, Ruhunu, Uva, Sabaragamuwa and Wayamba. Susantha Mendis Secretary said that there were approximately 5,000 participants from 90 leading schools which took part in the 2011 tournaments conducted by the SLSRFA.

Ranjith Chandrasekara, President, SLSRFA thanked President Mahinda Rajapaksa for giving his whole hearted support to SLSRFA for conducting the Prestigious President’s Trophy Tournament last year which was a grand success.

The SLSRFA was inaugurated in 1992. The finals of the different match categories were held in Colombo, Kurunegala, Kandy, Avissawella and Badulla.

President - Ranjith Chandrasekara,

Deputy President - H. Sarathchandra Silva

Secretary - Susantha Mendis

Asst. Sec. - Jagath Semasinghe

Treasurer - N. L. Wethewa

Asst. Tres: Prasantha Ranaweera, Tournament Secretary - S.A. Gamini Sarathchandra. Also seven Vice Presidents were elected.


Posted on 2012-01-30 19:16:58
Sri Lankan Airlines
Nov 23
Events Book
International Sports Press Association
LIVE Scores

Should Dilshan have continued until Cricket World Cup 2019?

Yes No

“That was pathetic. No excuse at all. The whole team is responsible. Whoever the captain is, we have to back him and try and support him. The captain has to do so many other stuff. All the 11 guys must back him and support him.” “We have addressed the issue of finishing off the overs on time in the past as well, but it cropped up again. It’s so unfortunate to see Upul going out as he is a crucial player in our set up. He batted well against South Africa and it’s so unfortunate. This can’t happen again,” - Angelo Mathews


Cricket is a game of fine margins and Mathews is set to be a modern great. Hang in their Angie, this team can achieve something on this tour. Thirimane and the youngsters form was a real positive. Prasad was missed. Chameera should be persisted with. If Bairstow was our early outcome could have been very different.


Enter your email address to sign up for our email Newsletters.

Please type in your email address.


Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions